JADS Workshop on Responsible Data Science

      No Comments on JADS Workshop on Responsible Data Science

On December 2nd, one day after the official opening of the Jheronimus Academy of Data Science (JADS) by Queen Maxima, we organized the JADS Workshop on Responsible Data Science at the Mariënburg campus location. The theme of the workshop was Responsible Data Science (RDS) inspired by the RDS initiative in which TU/e and TiU collaborate (http://www.responsibledatascience.org/). To future-proof responsible data science methods, foundational research is needed, and, given the complementarity of TU/e and TiU in JADS, there are great opportunities to collaborate on this theme. This was reflected by the workshop.
The workshop started with a presentation by Viktor Mayer-Schönberger who provided numerous examples showing the power of data science and the dilemmas new data-driven technologies introduce. Viktor is Professor of Internet Governance and Regulation at the Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford and co-author of influential books like “Big Data: A Revolution That Will Transform How We Live, Work, and Think” (HMH, 2013) and “Delete: The Virtue of Forgetting in the Digital Age” (Princeton, 2009). After Viktor Mayer-Schönberger’s talk we discussed the four challenges:

  • Data science without prejudice – How to avoid unfair conclusions even if they are true?
  • Data science without guesswork – How to answer questions with a guaranteed level of accuracy?
  • Data science that ensures confidentiality – How to answer questions without revealing secrets?
  • Data science that provides transparency – How to clarify answers such that they become indisputable?

Each of the four challenges was introduced by a session leader and then discussed with the whole group. This triggered many interesting and deep discussions that will help to find common ground for later JADS/RDS initiatives.
Below are pointers to the slides used:


Jheronimus Academy of Data Science, Sint Janssingel 92, 5211 DA, ‘s-Hertogenbosch.


  • Wil van der Aalst (DSC/e)
  • Dick den Hertog (DSC/t)
  • Arjan Van Den Born (DSC/d)